Wheelers Victorious in Both Midland League Round 13 Races

Post date: Aug 09, 2014 12:8:56 PM

On Thursday 7th August Shannonside CC hosted round 13 of the Midland League in Clara. A challenging 13km course to be completed 3 times awaited all the riders. First race off on the evening was the A/B category. The B group containing 8 riders got a 3.5 min advantage on the chasing A group of 16 riders. The B group put in a strong effort and stayed away to the finish and in the sprint Charlie Sheridan was 1st, Aidan Daly 2nd, Michael Reynolds 6th,and Graham Morgan 8th. Peter Rimmer managed to break away from the A group on the last lap with Shannonside rider Graham O'Brien and in the uphill finish Peter finished tenth.

Next race off on the evening was the CD category. The D group got a 1.5 min advantage on the C group with the C+ group a further 3.5 mins behind. The C group caught up to the D's on lap 2 with the C+ group only making contact with the bunch on the last lap. The finish came down to a bunch sprint with Moss Keane 1st, Michelle O'Halloran 6th, Ciaran O'Brien 7th, Derek Sheerin 8th, Conor Canton 11th and David Boyne 12th. Well Done all.

The Next Midland League report will be on Round 14 which is on Thursday 14th August in Mount temple starting at 7pm. A minimum of a club competition Licence is required at sign on.

Lakeside Wheelers Squad - Midland League 2014 Round 13 in Clara.