Great Results for Wheelers at Midland League

Post date: Apr 28, 2014 9:17:49 PM

(By Billy Cunnane)

On Thursday 24th April Shannonside CC hosted round 1 of the Midland League in Mount temple. A 13km lap to be completed 3 times awaited all the riders. There was a great turn out of Wheelers with 30 signed on across all categories. First race off on the evening was the A/B race. The B group containing 21 riders got a one and a half minute advantage on the chasing A group which contained 19 riders. Stuart Cox instigated the winning breakaway on lap 2 with 1 Shannonside rider managing to bridge across to him from the pack. Both lads worked well together and stayed away to the finish with Stuart taking the well deserved win. The A group made contact with the B group on the last lap with the wheelers finishing just outside the points in the bunch sprint.

The next race off was the C/D race. The D group containing 8 riders got a 4.30 min advantage on the chasing C group of 30 riders. The C group caught the D group on the second lap. The finish came down to a bunch sprint with Moss Keane 3rd, Derek Sheeran 4th, Graham Morgan 5th, David Casserly 6th, Michelle O'Halloran 8th and Seamus Moran 10th. Well done to all. The next Midland League report will be on Round 2 which is taking place in Clara on Thursday 1st May starting at 7pm. Minimum of a club competition licence is required at sign on.

Stuart Cox in Midland League action