Mullingar Grand Prix 2015

Post date: Jul 19, 2015 10:31:53 PM

Lakeside Wheelers continued its busy summer event schedule with its third major event when it staged the annual Mullingar Grand Prix race in Multyfarnham on Sunday July 19th.

Near perfect weather greeted all riders as they assembled in Multyfarnham Community Centre with racing scheduled to commence for adults at 11.30am. For the first time in several years Lakeside Wheelers were proud to precede the main events with a youths schedule for U12's U14's and U16's. The youths started from Coole and Castlepollard at 10am with the 12's and 14's completing the circuit to finish in Multy. The U16's raced to Multy and then completed one full lap of the 35km circuit with Wheelers getting a great 2nd place from Sean Kennedy in this event. Another fantastic achievement in the U12's came courtesy of Tommy Hogan who finished 3rd.

Under U16

Under 12

1. Mark McGarry D.C.C

2. Chloe Wall Navan R.C.

3. Tommy Hogan Lakeside Wheelers

4. Cormac Feeley Donamon Dynamos

In the senior races which commenced at 11.30 the Wheelers were well represented across all categories. With a challenging 35km route taking the 300 riders from Multy to Crookedwood, Castlepollard, Coole and back to Multy the scene was set for a proper showdown around the Lakes and through the Bog! Best of the locals was Joe Kenny who got up for 7th in the A4 race with Michelle O'Halloran getting a fine 6th in the ladies event.

Whilst entries in the A1/A2 event were slightly down, the field still included some big hitters in the form of Mark Dowling DID, Sean McKenna Aquablue and Colm Cassidy, Aquablue. Notable amongst the absentees was the new king of Irish cycling, Mullingar's own Damien Shaw who was nursing a broken collarbone and so, decided to take a soigneurs role in his Teamm Asea car. This race was aggressive from the start and after a hard 140km the victor was Daire Feeley from Team Itap followed by Cassidy and rounding out the podium was Joseph Brehony of UCD Cycling Club. Mullingar were represented by Keith Finn and Stuart Cox in this race and both finished in the bunch.

The race organisers would like to say a big thank you to all members who helped out with running this GP. The club would also like to say thanks to, the local residents, clergy, business people, Westmeath Civil Defence, Cionn Torc Motorbike Club, Mr Gerry Bawle and especially to the committee of Multyfarnham Community Centre for the use of their fabulous facilities.

Under 14

1. Mark Smith Moynalty

2. Ryan Gerathy Inspiration

3. Danny McDonald Burren C.C

4. Aaron Wade Lakeside Wheelers

5. David O'Sullivan Moynalty

6. Robert Keane Carlow

1. Shane Higgins Black Rose

2. Sean Kennedy Lakeside Wheelers

3. Conor Coleman D.C.C

4. Aaron Cullen Donadea Wheelers

5. Jack Caldwell Navan R.C

6. Ciaran O'Sullivan Comeragh C.C

Wheelers lead the peleton out of Multyfarnham - more pictures HERE