News‎ > ‎

Wet Morning Does Not Deter Team Time Triallists

posted 28 Sept 2011, 10:16 by Kevin Monaghan   [ updated 2 Oct 2011, 11:55 ]
Team Time Trial
The A, B and C groups all took different routes on Sunday morning but all made it back to Ballinalack for 11am. The groups met at Texaco Ballinalack and members not doing the Team Time Trial had the tea stop in the cafe while members taking part headed across the road to the start line at the LARC Centre.

Robbie Kenny, Mick Reynolds, Charlie Sheridan and Mark Evers had also organised a junior spin on Sunday morning to coincide with the event and it was great to see two junior teams lining up for the first time ever. Robbie and the lads deserve great credit for the amount of time they are spending coaching the juniors riders on their regular Saturday morning spins.

Teams of 4 riders started a minute apart and the time given to the team was from the last of the 4 riders to cross the line - so it requires good team work and communication to get the best team result. The Team Time Trial is a handicapped event to make it suitable for all members of the club regardless of fitness. The winner of the 2011 Team Time Trial is …….the team of Conor Isdell, Damien Duncan, Robbie Kenny and Stephen Coroon.

For the record the Team of Jack Nugent, Dan O’Toole, Morgan Dempsey and Shay O’Toole recorded the fastest time of the day. Prizes for the winning team will be presented at the Christmas party.

A big thank you to Cathy (Horohoe!) who came out to look after timing and handicaps on a very wet morning. Thanks to Charlie Sheridan who marshalled at the Castlepollard roundabout and Billy Cunnane who helped out with timing at the finish despite the torrential rain showers.