News‎ > ‎

Largest Crowd Ever Attends Club AGM

posted 27 Nov 2010, 12:45 by Kevin Monaghan   [ updated 27 Nov 2010, 14:03 ]
(By Shay O'Toole)
The Annual General Meeting of Lakeside Wheelers cycling club was held on Friday night, November 19th, in the Greville Arms hotel. This year’s meeting saw the largest crowd ever to attend, which is yet again another indication of the phenomenal growth in membership that the club has seen in the last 12 months. Club secretary, Carmel Buckley actually pointed out that membership has increased by a whopping 40% since the 2009 meeting.
Healthy Financial Position Reported By Treasurer
Treasurer Cathy Flynn gave us the financial report which concluded with some good news regarding the club accounts, whilst other reports were provided by several other officers of the club. These included Tom Carolan who gave the Leisure review with the main focus being our own Tour of the Lakes which should be even bigger and better in 2011.
Catalogue Of Successes Recalled
Dave Fagan provided us with some fantastic highlights from the racing season which showed just how much of an impact the Wheelers team has made on the Irish road racing scene this year. Mark Horohoe gave details of our own competitions including the Dysart league, Individual TT, Team TT, Inter Firms TT and Hill climb. These club events have yet again proved very popular with 114 members taking part. Mark also stated that all club event prizes will be presented at the club Christmas party on December 10th in the Annebrook Hotel.
Club Constitution
Carmel Buckley advised the meeting that we are currently in the process of compiling the first ever constitution which will hopefully be ready for an EGM in February 2011. 
New Committee
The new committee elected at the AGM is as follows:-
Officers:- Chairman, Shay O'Toole (and PRO); Secretary, Carmel Buckley;  Asst. Secretary, Ken Mullligan; Treasurer, Tom Carolan;  President, John Boyan; Youths, Robbie Kenny; Leisure, Conor Isdell; Social, Adrian Murphy; Competitions & A Group Leader, Mark Horohoe; B group leader, Conor Isdell; C group leader, Arthur Dempsey; Mountain Bike Officer, Richie Lenehan;
Committee Members:- Mark Monaghan; Claire Malone; Dave Fagan; James Marshall
Before I finish with the AGM news I would like to pay tribute to two club members who have stepped down from the committee after many years of dedicated service to the club. Firstly, Cathy Flynn, who has been a stalwart of Lakeside Wheelers in some form or another for the last four or five years, has decided to take a well earned rest from administration duties and we wish her all the best in the coming weeks.  Mick Reynolds is also going into semi-retirement but again he is well entitled, Mick is a founder member of Lakeside Wheelers and has been at the coal face of the club for several years. Many thanks to you both and to all other committee members, (especially Tom Carolan who has been transferred from the PRO department to the finance department) who have stepped down this year.