News‎ > ‎

Results and Report for Expert Mullingar Criterium hosted by Lakeside Wheelers

posted 17 Jun 2010, 14:32 by Cathy Flynn   [ updated 17 Jun 2010, 14:37 ]
Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar hosted a very successful Criterium on Wednesday evening 16th June as part of "Destination Sport Mullingar" week long sports festival. Racing started at 6:30 with 15 teams of four in an Inter-firms Team TT, which proved a very popular event with local club riders. Stamullen man Gay Howard provided some great commentary and with fine summer weather spectators turned out in big numbers to enjoy a great evenings racing, to mark national bike week.

The Cat. 4 race had the biggest field of the night with 70 riders on the start line. While a number of riders tried to steal away during this half hour race, they were hauled back each time. On the up hill finish Redmond McDonagh Naas CC just got the better of Declan Quigley, Orwell Wheelers by the narrowist of margins, indeed the judges had to deliberate for some time before they could confirm the result. Mark O'Hara Lakeside Wheelers took the third spot while his team mate Damien Shaw was just piped by Eddie McGovern Longford Wheelers for the fourth spot.

In the Category 3 race local riders were very prominent throughout. An early break away by John Murray Lakeside Wheelers and Alan Maye Clonard RC provided a springboard for Murray to go on by himself and open up a gap of 30 seconds at one stage. With the three laps to go Murray looked like he would hold out but the field reeled him back in at the bell. On the final lap another Lakeside Wheeler Paul Crowley, launched a powerful attach to go clear and come home a worthy winner from Ravens rider Eugene Murtagh with another Mullingar rider Mark Horohoe taking the third spot.

The main race of the evening had category 1 and 2 riders racing for 45 minutes and two laps. From the gun the hammer was down and by the third lap three riders , Mark Dowling Engraveit, Michael Redden South Dublin and Colm Robinson Stamullen, had opened up a 20 second gap. David O'Loughlin of the An Post Sean Kelly team was sitting comfortably in the bunch for the first twenty minutes of racing before shooting out of the bunch to cross over to the three leaders with a very powerful piece of riding. Once O'Loughlin joined the leaders the lead was increased to over a minute and it was obvious this group was not going to be caught. At the finish line O'Loughlin took the chequered flag with ease from Dowling with Redden taking the third spot from Robinson. Andrew Meehan Engraveit took fifth from a very impressive seventeen year old, Gavin Keane from Donamon Dynamo's.

This well organised town centre race had tremendous support from the local County Council, Gardai and Civil Defence and looks like it will be a big hit on the

Results: Expert Mullingar Criterium, Wednesday 16th June 2010

Category 1/2 Race
1 David O'Loughlin An Post Sean Kelly
2 Mark Dowling
3 Michael Redden South Dublin Zilcom
4 Colm Robinson Stamullen M Donnelly
5 Andrew Meehan
6 Gavin Keane Donamon Dynamos
7 Thomas Feeley A.C.B.
8 Craig Sweetman Stamullen M Donnelly
9 Padraig Marrey Western Lakes
10 Brendan Whelan Lucan Staggs CC

Category 3 Race
1 Paul Crowley Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
2 Eugene Murtagh Ravens
3 Mark Horohoe Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
4 Colm Farrell Navan RC
5 Darragh Zarghdan Lucan Staggs CC
6 Brian Reynolds Lucan Staggs CC
7 Christopher Reilly Bohermeen
8 John Murray Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
9 Michael Devins Eire Og CC Sligo
10 Eoin Whelan Laois CC

Category 4 Race
1 Redmond McDonagh Naas CC
2 Declan Quigley Orwell Wheelers
3 Mark O'Hara Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
4 Eddie McGovern Longford Wheelers
5 Damien Shaw Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
6 Rory Farrell Lucan Staggs CC
7 Joe Carroll Galway Bay CC
8 Leo Dillon Shannonside CC Athlone
9 Charlie Sheridan Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
10 Richard Lenihan Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar


See pictures by Peter Purfield at the following link: