News‎ > ‎

Expert Mullingar 2-Day a Huge Success

posted 12 Jul 2010, 09:15 by Kevin Monaghan   [ updated 15 Jul 2010, 07:44 ]
The Expert Mullingar 2-Day stage race was held over the weekend with over one hundred and sixty riders taking part in two separate races each of 3 stages.   There were over ninety riders in the senior category 2/3 race and seventy in the senior category 4 race, all of whom were tested to their limits on two tough circuits just north of Mullingar and an equally testing time-trial on the N4 on Sunday morning.
Unfortunately, the Saturday round was held in absolutely appalling conditions with an incessant downpour soaking the participants from start to finish. Once again though, Damien Shaw showed why he is regarded as such an exciting prospect by coming home first in the A4 category. And as if to underline his potential, he posted the second fastest time in the Sunday morning time trial. But his luck ran out on the Sunday afternoon road race when a broken chain on the first lap put paid to his race and a dejected Damien was left to ponder what might have been. A lot of people in the club will be keeping a close watch on his progress over the coming races, though. For someone who has only been cycling for a few months, his rise through the ranks has been little short of spectacular.
The overall result in the category A4 race literally couldn't have been any closer with both Ian Richardson and Keith Johnson finishing with the exact same time overall.  The winner could only be chosen by referring to the rule book with Keith getting the nod based on a better time trail placing. 
In the A2 and A3 races, particularly on the Sunday leg, the peloton managed to stay together throughout the race without anyone making any significant breakaways. There were strong performances from Robbie Kenny, David Fagan, Steven Franzoni and Mark Horohoe among others. Well done to Sean Featherstone of Newry who was the overall winner in the A2-3 category.  Local rider Steve Franzoni finished tenth overall in this race.
And here’s something that will cause Arthur Dempsey to raise an eyebrow or two – Ollie Bright (Snr.) was at the front of the race throughout! Arthur had previously commented that Ollie never appears at the front of the peloton – well Arthur, Ollie spent the whole of Sunday afternoon at the front of the race. Okay, I know, he was driving the commissaire’s car, but what has that got to do with anything? Well done to all of the club members who participated and thanks too to all the members who helped out with marshalling, sign on, back-up cars etc.
Full Final General Classifiaction sheets for both races are available as attachments to this news item...
Category 4  
General Classification
1. Keith Johnson, Lakelands CC
2. Ian Richardson, UCD
3. Maurice Dore, Bray Wheelers
4. Anthony Doyle
5. Dave Allen, Wexford Wheelers
6. Richard McDonagh, Naas
7. Gearoid Hynes, Western Llakes
8. Eoin O'Shea 
9. Ciaran Coffey 
10.Ross Collins, Orwell Wheelers

Stage 1  
1. Damien Shaw, Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
2. Anthony Doyle 
3. Richard McDonagh,Naas CC
4. Kieth Johnson, Lakelands CC
5. Maurice Dore, Bray Wheelers 
6. Gearoid Hynes, Western Lakes
Stage 2 (Time Trial)
1. Ian Richardson, UCD
2. Damien Shaw, Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
3. Kieth Johnson, Lakeland CC
4. Anthony Doyle 
5. Dave Allen, Wexford Wheelers
6. Maurice Dore, Bray Wheelers
Stage 3
1. Maurice Dore, Bray Wheelers
2. Richard McDonough, Naas
3. Gearoid Hynes, West Coast Wheelers
4. Ciaran Coffey, Lakeside Wheelers Mullingar
5. Simon O'Dea, Navan Road Club
6. Diamuid Collins
Category A2-A3
General Classification
1. Sean Featherstone, Newry
2. Colm Laverty, Navan RC
3. John Peppard, Eastern Suburbs
4. John Heverin, Clan Eireann
5. Anthony Walsh, UCD
6. Nathan Morgan, Newry
7. Desi Foley, Newry
8. Derek Cunningham 
9. Eoghan Considine, Galway Bay CC
10. Steve Franzoni, Lakeside Wheelers
Stage 1
1. John Peppard, Unattached
2. Sean Featherstone, Newry Wheelers
3. Conchubhar O'Chrualaoich, Wexford Wheelers
4. Dessie Foley, Newry Wheelers
5. Anthony Walsh 
6. Thomas Feeley, UCD
Stage 2 (Time Trial)
1. Colm Laverty, Navan Road Club
2. John Heverin, Clan Eireann
3. Anthony Walsh, UCD
4. Nathan Morgan, Newry Wheelers
5. Dessie Foley, Newry Wheelers
6. Derek Cunningham
Stage 3
1. Conchubhar O'Chrualaoich, Wexford Wheelers
2. Sean Bracken, Usher
3. Daniel Logue, Unattached
4. John Peppard, Eastern Suburbs
5. Alan Galavan, Slaney
6. Anthony Walsh, UCD
Kevin Monaghan,
15 Jul 2010, 07:43
Kevin Monaghan,
15 Jul 2010, 07:43
Kevin Monaghan,
13 Jul 2010, 01:34