News‎ > ‎

Christmas Party & Prize Giving Night

posted 5 Dec 2011, 14:41 by Kevin Monaghan   [ updated 5 Dec 2011, 15:45 ]
(By Mark Monaghan)   
On Friday night last, Lakeside Wheelers members turned out in force to take over the Old House Bar in the Annebrook House Hotel for our annual prize giving night. A great night (& early morning for some of us) was had by all. 

The night kicked of with prize giving for all the different club events held during the year, including  Time Trial League winners prize (Eoin Lynch), Team Time Trial (Robbie Kenny, Conor Isdell, Stephen Corroon  & Damien Duncan ) Fastest Team Time Trial (John Nugent, Shay O’Toole, Dan O’Toole & Morgan Dempsey) Club Hill Climb (1st Junior Eoin Lynch, 1st C Group Rider Seamus Clarke 1st C group Lady Vivianne Fitzpatrick , 1st B Group Rider Gareth Butler, 1st B Group Lady Paula Murray, 1st A Group Rider Stuart Cox)

Under Age Riders ( Cian Humphries & Thomas Killmuarry), Club Race League  (Blue category Winner Claire Malone 2nd Oliver Bright, 3rd Nigel Scarff, 

Yellow Category Winner PJ Carey, 2nd David Shaw, joint 3rd JP Kilmuarry & Aidan Fox, Red Category Winner Stuart Cox, 2nd Damien Shaw, 3rd Brian Colentine & overall winner of the club league was Stuart Cox.)

Also on the night we had a presentation for the best newcomer, most improved cyclist & club person of the year.
Robeard O’Ceallaigh received the best newcomer award. Robeard fully deserves this prize having put in a lot of hard work over the past months & if he is not out on the road he can be found down in Outdoor Escape a couple of nights a week on the turbo trainer!

Most improved cyclist of the year went to none other than Damien Shaw.  Damien’s success over the past year has been incredible. He has won numerous races & stage races throughout the year while also moving up thought the different grades of racing categories up to A1. One of his best achievements of the year was his 2nd place in the National Criterium in front of his home town crowd. Damien is also a member of the Irish Paralympic Cyclimg squad, not bad for a man that only started racing a couple of years ago!

The Club person of the year prize went to former chairman Shay O’Toole. Shay has put Trojan amount of work into the club over the past year & is a very worthy recipient.

Well done to all involved on the night especially Mark Horohoe whose excellent organisation meant the night went off without a hitch.  Thanks to the Annebrook House Hotel for the use of their facilities over the past two weeks and for all our committee meetings during the year it’s really appreciated.

Shay O'Toole (centre) Club Person Of The Year
Shay O'Toole (centre) Club Person Of The Year